I’m Getting Married!!

I decided on my ride today that I am getting married….. to Myself. I haven’t figured out how to propose to Myself yet, but I am really excited about making this big move in my life. I already have a couple of rings and was thinking of being non-traditional and wearing one of them on the right hand. I won’t mind.

You may be thinking this is a bit hasty, but I feel good about this move. I mean, I am a good person, and while I am not the neatest of folks on a day to day basis, I am aware of how my habits affect others, and I make an effort to not allow my clutter to affect their life in a bad way. I can already see myself straightening up more.

I am honest, and I can actually read my mind, something most partners only think they can do. Plus, I strive not to make the same mistake twice, so while I may disappoint myself now and then, I feel I have learned some of the biggest lessons, and will always turn every challenge into a learning opportunity. I am honest with myself, something I require in a relationship. I also respect myself and know I have a lot of love to give.

I am good-looking enough and trust that I will make every effort to age gracefully. I eat healthy and don’t drink too much, so the future looks good on that account.  I don’t plan on leaving Myself. I can tell that I am spending the rest of my life with Myself, and I am happy with that.

I love my kid and my dog, and I can be a little impatient with either, but I strive always to do the best I can for them and look forward to sharing the responsibility of caring for them with Myself.

I can depend on Myself and don’t ever have to wonder what I am doing or where I am. I am pretty sure that over time, I will be able to have an open relationship with Myself as well. That will be slow-going, for good reason, and I don’t want to rush it, but I think that with time, I can trust Myself to be intimate with someone else.

I am smart, have a good sense of humor, am passionate and articulate, healthy, and strive to do the right thing. I feel lucky to have found Myself, and I am looking forward to articulating that lifelong commitment to be the best partner I can be.

Now, if I could only figure out how to propose to Myself….

5 thoughts on “I’m Getting Married!!

  1. Pingback: Wrapping his head around it « Amy-Bunny’s Blog

  2. I suggest taking yourself out for a nice dinner, a couple drinks, popping the question and then going home to consummate the engagement.

    • It was pretty clear between Myself and I how I feel, so buying the ring was a big part of it. We picked it out together. Last night, I wanted to celebrate the engagement, so I invited some friends to a nice restaurant, went through about 5 outfits before I decided on one, and it ended up being a great night! I felt a little like I was going out on a first date, even with my daughter in tow.
      I was thinking of taking Myself to a spa before the week is out to have a “couples” massage….

  3. In a “sex and the city” episode, Carrie threw herself a party for being engaged to herself (after her $400 shoes went missing at a friend’s engagement party). she had a registry and everything… not a bad idea…..

    Proposing to yourself without “talking to yourself” may be difficult, and if you answer, do you have multiple personalities or schizophrenia? Have fun deciding…

Leave a Reply

