Hotter Than “You-Know-What”

That was the theme of my Triple Vinyasa class today where I take hot yoga, also known as Bikram. They also teach Vinyasa, which is a beautiful fusion of Bikram and Ashtanga yoga, and even some pilates. It ended up being 2 hours and 15 minutes long, and even the usual 1 1/2 hours wears me out. I actually had to rest a couple of times because my core temperature was too high, along with my heart rate. They get the room to about 110 degrees normally, but I think it was about 120 today, and there were lots of people, so the moisture was insane. I wish I could have stopped to take a picture of how much sweating we do. I don’t think I will ever stop being amazed at how much water can come out of me without me getting woozy.

This is the end of my second week of hot yoga, and it’s done wonders for me. I don’t snack at night as much, hardly at all really, my energy flows better when I am doing other things, my belly is flat again and showing some definition, my breathing is deeper and fuller, and I sleep like a log.  Add to that the fact that I am doing my current rotation at Pharmaca in Santa Fe, where I have access to herbalists, Doctors of Oriental Medicine, and more. What a great combination for my soul!

Happy after Triple VinyasaWhoa baby! It's hot in here!

Two hours of sweating is like sitting in a tubfeeling good now!!

Leave a Reply

