Put yourself where you need to be to get where you need to go.

I could probably stop the blog right there. It’s really that simple. The hard part is truly knowing where you want to go. Some people think they want to go somewhere in their lives, but then wonder why they never got there. I believe it is most likely because they didn’t truly want to be there.

‘The reason most people never reach their goals is that they don’t define them, or ever seriously consider them as believable or achievable. Winners can tell you where they are going, what they plan to do along the way, and who will be sharing the adventure with them.’ -Denis Watley

I decided quite a while back that I wanted to do a clinical residency, so question #1 was:

Where do I want to live?

Some programs on the east coast have a great reputation and may look great on my resume, but I don’t want to live and practice there (sorry East Coasters, but it ain’t my style). Where could I ride all year round, or close to it? Where do I know people who could help make the transition easier and could tell me about where to live, how the school system is, where to ride, etc? Which leads to…

Question #2: Who do I know in these places?

For starters, I know Bill Jones at the VA CMOP (mail-order pharmacy) in Tucson because he came to our university and gave a talk, and we had chatted via email. I wanted to see if Tucson was a place I could live, so I asked to set up a rotation with Bill in Tucson. It didn’t take too much footwork, and I found myself in Tucson for a month, meeting everyone I could and asking every question I could think of about the programs, the lifestyle, the weather, the riding, the schools… I can’t do that for every rotation, but others I know without children can and have.

I was dead-set on leaving the state for residency. I wanted a new experience, and I am young still, so why not? Well, I am rethinking that now, as my daughter is not handling the recent move to a new school and home very well. I don’t know if she can handle that again in a year. So, I find myself yet again trying to figure out where I want to be so that I can figure out the road there. When you go on a road trip, you first decide where you are headed, and then you look at the route. This is no different…. but now I am looking at less than a handful of options here, and I don’t want to rule out my other prospects….

I have been feeling lost, until this last month, when I found some focus…at a retail pharmacy, nonetheless! I was at Pharmaca, where they practice integrative medicine. Alongside the traditional pharmacy are homeopathic, herbal and chinese medicines. Out on the floor, they have licensed herbalists and Doctors of Oriental Medicine. Everyone did a great job of working with each other and learning from each other, and I learned so much in that 4 weeks. I affirmed that integrative medicine resonates with me, and that I had neglected that side of me. Timing is everything. Starting up my yoga while working at this pharmacy opened up so many possibilities, and now I have an idea, a destination. The path to take I may have to just figure out using my mental compass, but it’s so good to have purpose and direction back in my everyday activities.

I am letting my curiosity lead me yet again. The neurons are firing, the ideas are flowing, and the future holds much promise. The next question is…. Who will I share the adventure with? Only time will tell….

Leave a Reply

