Blue Mhoon

My past is coming back to me in the weirdest ways lately…. I came back into contact with one of my two boyfriends from high school in the past few months. We are talking 20 years ago, everyone! It’s been fun starting to catch up. 20 years will take a while to catch up on.

Last night, I found out via a short Facebook message from an old friend that my other high school boyfriend, Daryl Mhoon, had passed away on November 28th. I was headed to bed to snuggle with my sweets J, and quickly checked my phone. I wished I hadn’t checked right then, because I didn’t know how to feel or what to think. I was sad, certainly. I haven’t seen him in years. I actually last saw him the last time I saw my other high school boyfriend, about 14 years ago…. while lying there with J, it kept coming to my head, and all the things I wished I had said or clarified.  I can’t help but think that I could have helped somehow….

I met Daryl in middle school, but what I really remember is hanging out in high school with him, especially after his long runs. He was in cross country, and did quite well, despite being a Type 1 diabetic. He was the first guy I could really heckle comfortably and tell him he had his head up his arss with a smile, like real friends do. I used to visit him at his dad’s all the time and just hang out. He was such an amazing person…very creative. He did some amazing woodworking for his age, and he was  a runner and cyclist (before I knew anything about either of those),…and boy could he write! He always had a knack for words and humor, and it seemed to be his outlet for a pretty unhappy childhood.

He always battled his diabetes, and I remember that I could tell when his blood sugar was high before he could. The inside of his eye would swell up, and I would let him know to check his sugars. We were close in a unique way, for me at least.  We hung out whenever I would visit home from California, and we ended up breaking up when I was 18, mainly because I lived in California and wasn’t coming home. I remember he made me a necklace that had a penny on a leather strip, and I wore it all the time. I was wearing it in my casual senior picture actually. He was the first guy I pictured as a possible future husband. Not only did we get along great, he was active, extremely handsome, a complete handy man, smart, funny, adventurous, and giving. What else would anyone else want?

I visited again 14 years ago, and we were sitting around drinking beers, when he said that I should come back and marry him. I kind of laughed and didn’t think much of it, since we were both buzzed and I had been home for a short while from California. He was different after that, though, and I couldn’t help but think he might have been at least somewhat serious. I always felt bad for not clarifying if he meant it. I felt that I was one of the few people he listened to, one of the few women in his life that would have had a positive influence on him, at least healthwise.

Daryl always said he didn’t want kids because he figured he wouldn’t live to be 40, but I never thought it would actually happen. I nearly made contact 2 years ago, but I knew he was married and didn’t push the issue, not knowing how she was. I wish I had just pushed to make contact. I wish I had the chance to say I am sorry for anything I have done that might have hurt him…. the chance to show him I still care and am still available to him for whatever he may need.

I wish I had the chance to go to his funeral, but I found out a week after the funeral. I would have liked to have seen his family, to let them know how much I appreciate them welcoming me into the family so many years ago. I think that for Christmas, I need to make some visits.

RIP Daryl. You were dear to me.

***************************************************************************************

MHOON — Daryl Mhoon, age 34, beloved husband, son, and grandson passed away Saturday, November 28, 2009. A native of Albuquerque, Daryl was married to Deborah Kathleen Mhoon on June 9, 2006. He is survived by his wife; mother; Janet Marie Bishop; father, Robert R. Mhoon; brother Damon Mhoon; sisters, Jayme Marie Mhoon and Casey Blair Bishop; maternal grandparents, James Edward and Lillie Mae Bond; and nephew, Cole Alexander Bishop. He was preceded in death by his paternal grandparents, Ruby Dell Mhoon and William Leon Mhoon. Daryl’s greatest pleasure in life was giving of himself, making everyone smile, and loving with all his heart. Family and Friends are invited to the Service at Shepherd of the Valley Presbyterian Church on 1801 Montano, NW Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. Arrangements by Direct Funeral Services, 2919 4th St, NW, ABQ, 87107. 505-343-8008.

7 thoughts on “Blue Mhoon

  1. Daryl and I didn’t have the best parting, and it makes me sad that this is the way we’ll part. I tried contacting him many times over the past couple of years to make ammends, but I never got any reply. However, like most-I am focused on what a special person he was. He had issues, like we all do-but he put that energy into a lot of things that most of us wouldn’t have the courage to even try. One of the most creative people I have ever met in my life-what a talent he had for making things in his head come to life.

    • James- I couldn’t agree with you more, and I too wanted to make amends for anything I had done to hurt him. He was a forgiving person, for he was humble. Thank you for commenting.

  2. Jayme showed me what you wrote about Daryl. I am Daryl’s mother. I remember Daryl talking about you but I don’t think we ever met. Daryl thought the world of you and had good memories of your times together although there was some heartache. Daryl was very precious to me. I like to think back on the good things that happened in life instead of the bad and, yes, you were a good thing.
    Janet

    • Hi Janet-
      We did meet once, at your place when Jayme was little. I was visiting from California, and I remember specifically that you had a Salvador Dali painting up in the living room. I am so sorry to hear there was any heartache. I never wanted to hurt him in any way. It’s good to hear from you, and thank you for sharing.

    • Jayme! How are you? I hope things are going well with your family, and I so wished I had found out sooner so that I could have been at Daryl’s funeral. We had amazing times together.
      Big virtual hugs to you!!
      Amy

  3. Pingback: How did we get *here*?! « Amy-Bunny’s Blog

Leave a Reply

