Timing and Serendipity

I think that Serendipity might be the theme of this year, and even part of last year. In every unfortunate event lies an opportunity. Today was a fairly uneventful day. I worked 8-4 in the pharmacy, freezing my tush off the whole time, then I went to make sure Keely was okay at the aquatic center. I left during her swim lesson to get some work done at home, and right before I left, I got a call from my residency director. I knew that we are supposed to fly to Hana at 8am, so I was going to take Keely to school early. My director wanted me at her house at 6:15am. Keely doesn’t start school until nearly 8am. I just didn’t know what to do. I had no time to prepare for this. Fortunately, Keely had hit it off really well with a girl named S., who was in both her hula and swimming classes. S’s family lives very close to the school, and I asked her mom B if I could drop off Keely in the am. She said to go ahead and have her spend the night. She called me “honey”, and said not to worry. When I brought Keely over, she was so welcoming, and she has very similar values in parenting as I do. Keely’s new friend draws, reads, and plays instruments….they are much alike in their interests. Two peas in a pod!

Keely is not only spending the night, but will go to S’s house after school until swimming, so I don’t have to worry about her until after swimming. B also watches another girl, and I met her parents. Turns out this girl’s dad works at Wal-Mart. I asked if they were hiring, as I am looking for a second job in order to survive here on the island.

Something that could have gone very wrong pushed me to ask for help, and in the process, I made some friends and possible allies. I feel that when things fall into place, you are where you need to be and are doing something right.

Not only that, but I went online to check Keely’s grades, and of the two classes I could access, she has 100% and 117% overall. Way to go kiddo!!! I might actually sleep soundly tonight.

Leave a Reply

