It’s a Small World, After All

Coincidences often come up in conversation, where you realize perhaps you and a person you just met have a mutual friend. For instance, one of my Team In Training marathon coaches from 2005 I saw in my boyfriend’s stack of pics. His name is Orlando, and he was bouldering at U-Mound with Nick. Then, Nick’s long-time buddy Leo finally joined Facebook, and lo and behold, there is a picture of Orlando in his FB photos. I think he was backpacking or climbing with Leo. Regardless, it’s weird.

Tonight tops the cake though. My daughter and I get back from 3 weeks in New Mexico and after a little dose of sun and sand, we headed to the grocery store. After all, there was really nothing to eat (but mostly I needed cream for my morning coffee). We walked into Safeway here in Kihei, grabbed a cart, and almost ran into a pharmacy school professor of mine from University of New Mexico. He asked what I was doing there, and I explained that I live here now. He had JUST arrived on Maui (kind of like me). I couldn’t remember his name for the life of me at first. Starts with a B…B…Burchiel! Scott Burchiel. Really cool professor.

So, lesson is, always watch your actions. You never know when someone who knows you is nearby.

Leave a Reply

