Sometimes, your day is just odd…

After work, I went for a quick run…it was really hot, so I wasn’t very fast. The beach running didn’t help. I made sure to end at the beach, where I approached the water slowly, just getting my feet wet first. It’s not good to drop your body temp too fast. Then, I knelt and stretched a bit, which felt awesome. I love looking at the grains of sand on my skin.

There were some older, larger men trying to boogie board there, and when I walked into the ocean in my running clothes, they looked at me like I was crazy. I can’t say how amazing it is to lie in the water, totally relaxed, and the outside world just vanishes. I hope to hear the whales someday.

The walk home was pleasantly slow, and then I had an interesting talk with my new roommate, M. I think we have something to teach each other, just haven’t had a chance to figure it out yet. Then, I showered and got ready for a night out in Paia. My running friend R had invited me to a tribal belly dance performance at Moana Cafe. My co-resident was going to go but backed out, so I headed out alone in my pretty feminine garb. My ex and daughter didn’t know what to do with themselves, so they showed up. I really had wanted to have time alone, and it took me a while to get over the fact that my night without my daughter ended up being the night with both my daughter and my ex-husband. C’est la vie. The dancing was nice, the music great, the food expensive but fresh and yummy. My favorite was the breadfruit. My new fave!

Walking back to my car, hoping I didn’t get a ticket, I was suddenly struck by the tall grasses on the side of the road swishing and swaying in the light of the nearly full moon. It seemed almost as if they were talking. Paia has an interesting energy I hope to experience more often.

When I got home, there was a HUGE moth flying around. I thought it was a bat at first, but thankfully it wasn’t. It was really whipping around, freaking out Keely. When I left it, it was hanging out on the cork board. I managed to get some good pics, but I wasn’t able to get it even close to the front door. My roommates also left food on the counter, which I am concerned about. Fruit doesn’t get left out, nor does an open bag of pretzels. I hope that by morning they are still okay and that my kitchen isn’t infested with ants.

Now, I am tired, as I have been for the last several daily posts. I really need to post earlier in the day, so that I don’t have disjointed sentences and undeveloped thoughts. In any case, I have a pet moth now, and I want to dance again. I want to move my body in all planes.  It helps me feel complete.

Yep, some random thoughts for your perusal. My eyes are drooping, so I must sign off.

One thought on “Sometimes, your day is just odd…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sometimes, your day is just odd… « Amy-Bunny's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

