Ever seen a butterfly do the backstroke?

I blogged earlier about my experience with making my gluten-free “pretzels”, but that wasn’t the only project of the day. I also started work on the pond outside that I somehow inherited with my place. I seem to be the only one that really wants to take care of it, partially because I am the only one truly planning on staying.

Well, it’s a small pond with what looks like 8 beautiful koi, certainly too many for this pond. When my downstairs neighbor moved out, the pond suddenly turned green. I couldn’t even see the fish, but I figured they hadn’t died, since they weren’t floating on the surface. That’s usually a good indicator. Well, I went out and bought Algae Fix and a water conditioner, as well as some meds for the fish, a couple of whom (do you use whom with fish?) have developed what looks like a white fungus on their heads. I then proceeded to clean out the submersed water pump. Oh My God!! I can’t believe you could get water through all of the algae mess! I took out handfuls of algae, and squeezed out the pads.

Today, I went to a pet supply shop and got new pads for the filter and a net. When I asked about the fish,the store employee told me they were probably Butterfly Koi.

Swimming Butterflies…I like it!

Here are some before pics.

 

Nice pump,eh? This ain't the half of it

Leave a Reply

