Unite With Your Sexy Self!

“What you resist, persists”

This phrase spoke to me in yoga class, as did the following statement…which for the life of me, I can’t remember right now. And that’s OK.

Many movements in yoga we feel resistance, or pain, but for some reason we keep doing the same thing, or we stop altogether. Sometimes, if you let yourself feel the pain without resisting, you tune into the problem and can (hopefully) adjust. While some postures look forced in yoga, when done correctly, nothing is forced, and even the most twisted, contorted positions are quite liberating.

What You Resist, Persists.

That happens in life when people think that by ignoring a problem, it will go away. Well, that certainly doesn’t work, and it makes it worse most of the time.

Another concept brought up was about duality and non-duality in yoga. Some forms of yoga separate the body, the mind and the spirit. My teacher today comes from Tantra Yoga, and she believes (as do I), that the body, mind and soul are intricately intertwined. The style we studied today was Anusara yoga, which starts with a beautiful, melodic chant, enveloped on either end by the infamous OM. The vibrational energy you feel in a room full of people OM’ing is amazing!

The opposite of resistance is holding on, and what you hold on to, disintegrates, vanishes. As a dancer, my body and mind tend to hold on to the sensations I am used to feeling, and by trying for that sensation rather than being in the moment, I am unable to reach that point. The most amazing sensations I have had in dance and yoga were when I was open to the NOW, and as soon as I realized how amazing the experience was, as soon as I tried to hold onto it, the feeling was gone.

Luckily, when we let go of one thing, we leave room for more. The more we let go, the more we get back.

Today was a wonderful experience of letting go of preconceived ideas about my body and being gifted with new sensations, new freedoms and strengths within my body. Days like this I wonder why I don’t make yoga my living.

In fact, on days like this, I wondered, while lying in savasana, how anyone could try and escape their body. Making the connection between body, mind and spirit is the most uplifting, empowering experience I have ever had. It is truly sacred, and I feel that is one of our biggest problems in society. We cut ourselves off from our body. We negate the relationship between emotion and the body, between the mind and the body.  It made me so happy to have this opportunity, but at the same time so sad that more people don’t have this experience.

Yoga is union. It is a choice that must be made by the individual. It is a personal journey and cannot be forced. My hope for the future is that more people choose to take the path of self-knowledge and growth, which would make the world a more peaceful place.

Leave a Reply

