Sprecklesville

What a great night of serendipity! I just got back from Sugar Ranch Maui, where the owners Justin and Ali held a dinner party. I hadn’t met them prior to the dinner, but I had responded to one of Justin’s emails in a cycling listserv, and he invited me over.  I hadn’t realized how neat Sprecklesville is until tonight. The homes are large, with plenty of land, and somewhat secluded on the outskirts of Paia. Some of the roads lead to red dirt leading into rock, leading into the ocean. This is not far off of the infamous Hookipa Beach, the windsurfing mecca.

Anyhoo, I met people from Australia, Northern Ireland, Canada, Sweden, and several of them had lived in other countries as well. There were mostly couples there, and quite a few small kids! The oldest was 7, so since my daughter is the oldest, I suddenly felt exponentially older. Yet, I felt younger in that most of these people had successful businesses, and I am barely starting out.

What I really loved was that most people talked about all of the activities they do. Careers came up last and only by request.  People there were avid SUP’ers, windsurfers, paddlers (canoe), cyclists, rock climbers, ice climbers, kite skiers, etc, etc. I didn’t hear much about running or yoga, but that’s probably just because I didn’t bring them up.

There is a fun paddle event this Saturday that I think I will have my daughter and I do. I found out about it from the owner of Olukai, whom I sat next to at dinner. What a visionary this man! He can truly take a vision and make it happen. I will post more about the event later, but now I should probably get some sleep.

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

