Full

Got back from a full day not long ago. What a great day it was! I started out on my road bike with friends climbing from 6000 feet to the summit of Haleakala (10,023). My legs felt pretty good until the end, where it hit 14% grade and the air thinned out. I cracked, but only stopped long enough to get some air into my lungs. The ride down was cold, to the point of teeth chattering. Plus, the wind gusts either threatened to push me off the side of the mountain on some turns, or forced me to actually pedal while going downhill.  A nice shower, coffee, and hot breakfast set me up for a very nice nap after. I awoke thawed out, and lounged around with friends for a while before we headed out to the Maui Film Festival at the Celestial Cinema. What an amazing venue! We sat out on our own beach chairs on the golf course under the stars. We watched several independent films of varying lengths, and my favorite was the final one, Family of the Wa’a. If you are interested at all in Hawaiian culture and paddling, I highly suggest it. During some of the most poignant parts of the film, there was a shooting star, and then later the moon rose in just the same spot. The stars were out and bright, the weather was calm and just cool enough, and as always the company was great.

It just doesn’t get much better than this!

Leave a Reply

