Roll With It

Sometimes, life pushes you in a certain direction, and if you just go with it and do your best, even when you feel like you could drown soon, it turns out great. Example: I was invited to speak at a conference recently for the Critical Access Hospitals Quarterly Meeting. I hadn’t drawn a consensus on what to do it on, and when I realized it was on Oahu, I called to tell the guy that we didn’t have the funds. His response was to buy me a plane ticket. I was committed, and I didn’t have much time left. Somehow, it all came together, but I was burning the candle at both ends. The day of the presentation, I was supposed to catch the first flight out (6:09am). Well, I woke up at 5:50am. Boy, was I glad I had packed everything! Thanks to the corporate nature of the reservation, I was able to catch the next flight out. When I parked at the airport, there was a full rainbow in front of me, and I knew it was going to be a good day. I made it to the hotel on time, thanks to a new friend (let’s call him M&M), and the presentation went well. In fact, I was offered a job at two places and asked to speak at a national conference next year. Wow! That gave me a real boost.

I met my new friend M&M for a bit afterward, then met with a friend of mine from Oahu later. He is a photographer and wanted to check out a new underwater casing for his camera, so he asked if I wanted to be his underwater model. I have been wanting to do that for some time, and how fun is that?! It was a blast, and a great way to end a very stressful few days. We watched the sunset from a peak afterward, then caught dinner and drinks. It was a one-day event, and a very long night. I crawled out of the bed the next morning, prepping for a day of meetings. My day again started with a large rainbow. The last meeting of the day was with a possible preceptor for the residency who works with the Department of Health. I think it’s going to be an amazing experience, and I left very excited about the opportunities available to us.

Last night, I must have washed up to shore, because I slept a long 12 hours. I just didn’t seem to want to get out of bed. The stage had been set for something very exciting. I am so glad I went through with the presentation, as uncomfortable as I was, and I am so glad I pushed the meeting the next day to happen. Sometimes, you just have to roll with it, and you don’t realize the value until you are done being tossed around. You just have to trust in the process.

Leave a Reply

