Soigneurita

What a day was had!!!

I started out training for CTTS this year, but a lot of things were going on that just kept me from being focused on it, so I decided to forego. I really love being a part of everything though, so I was really happy when I found out my friend Alf didn’t have a SAG secured. It took no time to jump forward and offer my services. He gave me the plan, wrote out the bottle drops on a map, and I couldn’t quite “see” what he was saying with a ‘sweeping left, then the first climb’. I had ridden it before, but not as often as him and not in 2 weeks. …. I was getting nervous.We were to meet at 5am, so I went to bed early and woke up at 2:15 from a dream that I had overslept. My goal was to make everything as smooth as possible. He had been training so hard and long that I wanted to make sure nothing I did hurt his performance.

Race day, I actually got up and ready in time, brought extra fruit and beer for afterward (I love spoiling my friends), headed down to Paia and met up with Naomi and Mark from New Mexico. They had both planned on doing the race, but Naomi was feeling sick, so she rode support with me. Naomi is da bomb! I am so glad I had her there. I think I was as nervous as Alf. I wanted to make sure everything went off without a hitch, and she helped ease my worries. All the bottle drops went fine, and despite not feeling on top of his game, Alf defended his title of CTTS Fastest Man on Maui. Yeehaw!

Last night was the awards ceremony, which was really a lot of socializing and beer drinking, followed by a short awards ceremony. Mark had a hard ride, but he had managed to stay for the awards and drink several beers. Hard to pass up after a race like that!! I got some decent pics, but not as many as I would have liked.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Soigneurita

  1. Hey Amy,
    I was there at the 5000 ft level with the cowbell motivating everyone along. You probably rushed right by me keeping up w/Alf.
    Got a whole bunch of pics to give out. What was Alf’s race number? I’ll send you his pic if i can find his race number.
    Aloha,
    Walter

Leave a Reply

