One Year Here

Well, today was our one-year anniversary of being on the island, and it was busy. We made it! Sometimes the island picks you up, spins you around, and spits you right out. Not us! We are here and loving it.

I woke up at 4am thinking I could do the Hana ride before cleaning. Boy, was I mistaken! Thankfully, I realized the error of my thinking and started on the moving and cleaning at 5am, after some water and coffee. Then, I must have spent four hours on the kitchen. I bleached the whole inside of the frig. It was yucky! Keely wasn’t a whole lot of help. She was upset I woke her up at 8am, after I had been working for 3 hours. Getting Keely to empty out her room and actually clean anything was like trying to convince a rock it has legs. At some point later in the day, I realized I just wasn’t going to finish and have it all done well, so I contacted a cleaning service, and they said they could come tomorrow, and that I should put my feet up and relax. Just knowing that was on the horizon was such a huge relief!

Keely and I showered and decided to head out to catch the end of the Ukelele Festival, a free yearly event outside at the Maui Arts and Cultural Center. We saw her close friend there, and enjoyed a relaxing 1.5 hours. Then, we headed to WalMart to see if we could find some essentials, like a coffee pot, since my portable range doesn’t boil water. I found something  better! It’s an electric kettle, and it’s amazing!

For dinner, we went to the place we went to on our first night here, one year ago today, WokStar. Love that place!!! I, of course, got my usual Indo Peanut Stir Fry w/brown rice. Then, I throw in about 1/3 of a container of that chili sauce they put out. YUM! Settling in to the new place was a bit weird. I felt pretty lonely, but I realized that was due to the change. I was sleeping in a new place, in a new bed, and the day ahead of me was unknown. In fact, the next three months are really unknown to me. I just have to take it all one day at a time, and keep on trucking!

3 thoughts on “One Year Here

Leave a Reply

