Connections

I have been participating in Couchsurfing.org for most of my time here in Hawaii, and I have met some really great people from all over. Last night, I had an XTERRA World Championship competitor stay with me. She and I really connected, and I wished that we had more time together. Unfortunately, she had to go back today to the mainland.

Why do they always have to leave? I am realizing the reality of the island is that few people stay, so unless you move into an old circle of friends, or come here with a partner, it is mighty hard to get that circle of friends that helps keep you balanced. They are here, but it really takes some time to develop that trust.

Leave a Reply

