When Worlds Collide

Sometimes, serendipity works in the most amazing ways. Tonight, all my worlds collided. I have been wanting to connect with more people who practice yoga, are spiritually focused, and eat healthy…really healthy, not just making sure you get enough fruits and vegetables. I have been eating more raw foods and noticing a difference, my yoga helps ….everything, and incorporating it into my life has actually made me look visibly younger to people around me. But I digress…

So, it all started with a guy that I had randomly met at Coffee Roasters back in September I think. He seemed struck by me and asked if he could call me some time. I said yes, but to wait until my residency was over in October. Just too much going on. Well, that time came and went, and I wasn’t surprised not to hear from him. That’s a long time to wait. BUT, I saw him at the world premier of Thrive, so I made sure to say HI. Within a few days, we were in contact, and he invited me to go with him to a party in Makena. He wasn’t sure everyone that would be there, and I just decided to dress like all islanders do…casual. I made sure to not wear anything too…appealing. I wasn’t sure who I would meet, and I didn’t want him to get the wrong idea. So, he picked me up right on time, and we went out into the sunset.  It took about ten minutes to get pitch black, and we found ourselves lost in Makena. We drove all the way to La Perouse and back while he tried to remember where this place was. He had been there just once before. No worries, it was all an adventure in my mind. We finally found it, along with several others, but the gate was closed. A couple of fashionably dressed, and quite appealing, women came up and introduced themselves to me. Evidently, I could have worn whatever my heart desired that night, but it was all good. The owner came down to open the gate, and all I could see was his white shirt in the dark. Once the gate was opened, we all entered, and I tried to tell the owner that Jeff (my “date”) was getting something out of his truck, but he had quietly retreated already, as did all the others. We walked carefully up a dark driveway using my cell phone for light. I don’t have that fancy flashlight app figured out, so I had to hit the button every 10 seconds or so to turn the light back on. It was eerie and beautiful, with trees arching over us and the stars sparkling above.

I could tell already that this was a very special crowd. Jeff had told me there would be movers and shakers there, but he didn’t tell me of what kind.

The house was bright and open. I left my shoes in the entry, and as soon as I entered the kitchen, there he was. Jorge, the owner of the house, very polished with his tan skin, bald head, and nicely ironed white button-down shirt. Yogi style, not the stuffy office type of shirt. I knew exactly who he was, and I was surprised at how different he looked than I remembered. I last saw him in a yoga class, but I really remembered seeing him on a beach I was frequenting. He goes there quite often, and actually lives very close to it, and he would hang out with many of the same people, playing  frisbee, or hitting a ping pong ball back and forth, or volleying a soccer ball with someone. He was playful, yet so balanced and mellow. You could tell just by looking at him that he was an influential man, and he intrigued me. I wanted to get to know more about him, and suddenly I was in his home among several of his friends. No need to describe the house, other than it was wood and tile, the walls moved to the side to open up everything to the outside, the furniture had been moved outside, and Buddha was prominently situated in the room, bigger than life. Amazingly classy, clean, romantic, elegant.

While taking my wine bottles to the table outside, I was approached by none other than Bear, whom I had met two days prior on my bike ride. Go figure! He cleaned up quite well! I knew he was special, and seeing him in this group, it was confirmed. After a bit, and more people arriving, a man with a very large salad walked in. He looked familiar, but I couldn’t place him. He had a playful look about him, with sparkling eyes that made you wonder what wonderful adventures he could take you on, and his hair curled out a bit on the side in a boyish way. He didn’t lack in masculinity though, quite the contrary. I approached him, and he reminded me that we met at my house a while back. He was the agent that helped my landlord buy the house I live in. I remember thinking when I met him that he, too, had something very special about him, and that I wanted to see him again.  He had picked all the salad from his garden, including the giant avocado in his hand. He was worried the salad might be too spicy, which seemed odd, as it had no dressing on it. He looked around in the salad, then picked out what looked like arugula for me to taste. It was as spicy as wasabi! I mean, this little leaf literally popped with flavor. Good think I got to try that, because the salad didn’t last long enough for me to go back and get some.

I hit it off with a girl named Petra there, who lives out past Hana and grows her own food. She literally glowed with health and vigor! What a beautiful person to be around. Eventually, I met Kevin, a naturopathic doctor. I loved hearing about what he does, and it was refreshing to talk with someone who understands the scientific lingo, as well as the problems when East meets West in medicine. He has found a way to combine the two, but most people don’t breech that. I want to, but I feel so far behind everyone else I meet. One must start somewhere. Kevin just happens to be a cyclist too, so we agreed to find a time to ride together.

I was surrounded by amazing people I resonated with, and when that happens, lights shimmer, time drifts away, eyes sparkle, and you can see and feel the energy all around you and those you come in contact with. I left that evening feeling so alive, invigorated, and ready to move on in the next phase of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

