She’s Got Legs

Tonight was the last night of the conference, when they always put on a big show and party. When you have 20,000+ attendees, even when many of them go home, the party can be incredibly large. I heard there were about 6000 there tonight. I was excited to wear my new slinky dress and high heels. I just don’t get many opportunities to dress up here on the islands. It was cold out, but I knew that I would be taking the shuttle bus over to Mardi Gras World and then going inside. I spiffed myself up, then headed down with only a small cardigan and my purse. When I got to the waiting area for the shuttle, I knew I stuck out, and walking onto the bus was hilarious. Everyone was bundled up in long coats, beanies, scarves, gloves, etc. In walks the girl from Maui with a slinky dress and bare legs. Oh well. I felt good and was ready to dance!

When we got to Mardi Gras World, there was a line outside, again of overly bundled folks. Once inside, I was greeted by numerous giant faces. I didn’t realize we would be walking through the area where they make and store the floats for Mardi Gras. It was certainly cold, and we had to keep moving, but I shot some decent pics. I danced the whole time, and even had the lead singer Rockin’ Dopsie Jr (David Rubin) come down and dance with me at two points. Fun, Fun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

