Putting My Order In

I want to talk about the power of positive thinking. You may think, “yeah, yeah, rainbows and unicorns. Just smile, and life will be dandy.” No, it goes much further than that. Saying just smiling will take care of things is like saying that the grinning person behind the counter you just annoyed really IS happy to see you, when you know they would rather throw something at you.

Over the past 3-4 years, I have been gradually learning to create my own reality, little by little. It started with The Secret. I read the book and have never seen the movie. It’s simple, really, at first. I was having problems in relationships, and so I used the concept that you attract what you concentrate on in figuring out my part in the demise of my relationships. It’s all a dance, and we each play our part. I realized that, as much as I didn’t want to, I was attracting the same old things I did NOT want. This was because I was concentrating on avoiding them, and so I was much more privy to actions that played into that concept. I was waiting for the betrayal, and hence often reading into things too much. The best example I use when explaining it to people is to rephrase the all too-common “I don’t want to gain weight” into the positive “I want to be healthy and svelte”. Then, you are only concentrated on the actions that lead to what you DO want. Try and say each phrase to yourself and imagine the thoughts that would come up with each one, and actions you would more likely take.

I found that I was getting somewhat better at the relationship thing, but I had other issues in my life keeping me from fully realizing. I remembered the power of positive thinking from 2008, when I broke my pelvis. I was in amazing shape for triathlons and ready to race all summer. I could have been devastated, but I took it as a sign I needed to stop and smell the roses. Honestly, I had no choice but to slow down. I chose to look at the positive that could come out of it and never focused on the negative, since it served me no purpose whatsoever. I realized I needed to apply that to my whole life. It’s a gradual process. It starts with awareness, and the easiest habits you can chip away at first, and the other ones you need to go at layer by layer. It all happens not by effort, but by awareness and INTENT.

I remember working in a national committee whose director used to say, “perception is everything”. She was talking about our professional image, and, at the time, I disagreed. Now, I see what she said completely differently. Perception IS everything. We create our own reality every day, and we have a conscious choice to make our world beautiful or not. We can be a victim or not. We can be guilty or not. We can be whatever we want, or not.

Around the same time I was starting to apply these principles to my life, I received some great advice from a dear friend of mine. I had told someone I was dating what I wanted in a relationship, but I wasn’t sure whether that was something he could actually provide. I was worried that he wouldn’t be able to come through. My friend said, “when you put in an order on Amazon, do you sit by the mailbox waiting for the package to arrive, or check incessantly online to see if it’s going to make it? No, you put your order in, then trust that it will arrive.” With positive intent, I voiced what I truly wanted, and I had to trust that the universe would provide. It was really hard at first, but I started to see things happening. Things in my life fell into place more and more, until to this day, I am amazed at the power of serendipity. Things happen just in time. I don’t wait for things to come to me, but I voice my intent to the universe, through thought, action and communication with other people. The voice has power. I could go on and on about all the serendipitous events that have occurred in just the last 2 months, but trust me, when you are tuned into this and trust the universe and see how beautiful and supportive it is, you will understand.

I searched for “manifesting” on Google to see if I could find a good definition, and I found this little clip. It does a great job of looking at the different layers. I have made it to level four in many aspects of my life, but like I said, the deeper ingrained the habit, the longer it takes to chip away at. I just go deeper and deeper and deeper. The fifth level I can’t yet fathom, but I look forward to seeing the power of positive intent and seeing how I can manifest my dreams in this reality I create each and every day.

2 thoughts on “Putting My Order In

  1. Pingback: Positive Thinking Phrases – Affirmative Phrases to Boost Your Optimism | QUOTES OF ENCOURAGEMENT

  2. Pingback: Positive Thinking Phrases | QUOTES OF ENCOURAGEMENT

Leave a Reply

