3 1/2 Days to Pop Out a 10-Pounder

After reading the following, I am happy that I came through my daughter’s delivery okay. I went through 3 1/2 days of labor, with the first two attempts at inducing. Then, I went through 36 hours of natural labor. I had an epidural they had to redo, then I spiked a fever over 101. The baby was in distress, and they were pumping me with antibiotics and liters and liters of fluids. My daughter came out 10 pounds, naturally, no seizures or lasting complications, thankfully. I truly have a lot to be thankful for.

Fever During Epidural May Raise Delivery Risk.

MedPage Today (1/31, Phend) reports a study in Pediatrics suggesting that “a temperature spike during labor with epidural analgesia may indicate serious risks for the baby in an otherwise low-risk delivery.” According to researchers, “infants whose mother ran a fever over 101°F while receiving an epidural were two- to six-fold more likely to be weak, need ventilation, have low Apgar scores, and experience early-onset seizures.” The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development funded the study in part.

Leave a Reply

